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Child Passenger Safety Week is September 18-24, 2022

Ventura, CA. — During Child Passenger Safety Week, happening September 18-24, 2022, the
Ventura Police Department joins law enforcement agencies across the country to raise
awareness about the importance of keeping children in the correct car seat for their age and size.

“Motor vehicle injuries remain one of the leading causes of preventable deaths among children,”
said Sergeant Mark Knackstedt. “Learning how to properly install a car seat, and ensuring
children are always properly buckled, can prevent childhood injuries and protect the youngest
passengers in our community.”

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), nearly half of car seats,
about 46%, are misused.

California law requires all children under two years old and weighing less than 40 pounds, or less
than 40 inches tall are required to be in a rear-facing car seat. Parents are encouraged to keep
children in rear and forward-facing seats as long as possible. Children aged eight and older, who
are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall, may ride in the back seat of a vehicle in a properly fitted safety
belt.

The fine for not securing a child in the correct child safety seat is $490.

Parents and caregivers can schedule a free car seat installation or car seat check by appointment
only at the local Ventura California Highway Patrol (CHP) office by visiting www.CHP.ca.gov or
calling 805-662-2640.

To learn more about the Office of Traffic Safety grant and VPD’s educational efforts, visit
www.OTS.ca.gov or contact Emily Graves, Community Outreach Specialist for the Ventura Police
Department.
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