City Councilmember District 4 - Application for Appointment

The Ventura County Board of Supervisors appointed District 4 City Councilmember Erik Nasarenko as the new District Attorney for Ventura County on January 26, 2021. City Councilmember Nasarenko submitted his resignation effective that date. This resignation creates a vacancy on the City Council that triggers the appointment and/or special election process under Section 705(c) of the Charter.

At the February 1, 2021 Special City Council Meeting, City Council approved an Appointment Process to fill the City Councilmember District 4 Vacancy. This is the timeline:

February 1, 2021City Council Approves the Application Process to fill District 4 City Councilmember Vacancy
February 2, 2021Recruitment Begins - Application Posted Online
February 8, 20215:30 p.m. Recruitment Closes - All Applications are submitted via email to
February 2 - February 8, 2021Public may submit interview questions to 
February 8, 2021Status Report provided to City Council
February 20, 2021Special City Council Meeting - Interviews Conducted

City Council District 4 Vacancy Applicants

Name (Double click on name to view application - Withdrawn applications are not posted)
Maryhelen Alamillo - WITHDREW AS APPLICANT 2/11/2021
Ken Cozzens
Thomas Edelson
Paul Feuerborn - WITHDREW AS APPLICANT 2/10/2021
Brad Golden
Jenny Lagerquist
John Lory
Dan Lyon
Mike Marostica
Michael Mislinay
Spencer Noren
Clarey Rudd
John Ryan - WITHDREW AS APPLICANT 2/10/2021
Jeannette Sanchez-Palacios
John Silva
Tyler Threadgill
Bonaventure Wakam


Recruitment closed at 5:30 p.m. on February 8, 2021.  All Eligible/Qualified Applicants live and are registered voters in the City of Ventura, District 4.   At the conclusion of the recruitment, seventeen Applicants were invited for the Interview process.


Applicant interviews will be conducted at a Public Meeting on Saturday, February 20, 2021 (as listed in the above table). The public is invited to attend.  The agenda with a link to attend and methods to watch the "virtual" public meeting will be posted soon.


Contact: City Clerk Antoinette Mann
(805) 658-4787